So this is what anxiety feels like

The start of my solo travel trip

I'll cheers to arriving alive!

As I closed the front door of my house and made my way to the airport for my first ever solo holiday, I expected to feel epic.

I expected to effortlessly breeze through the train ride, the bus ride, airport security, the plane journey and the taxi ride that stood between me and my adventure freedom.

I expected passers by would notice my confident swagger and wish that they could ditch their travel companions and travel solo so that they could be like the woman who was clearly living her best life.

The reality was somewhat different...

I found myself repeatedly checking to see if my passport was still in my bumbag. It was.

I found myself looking at the reflection of the bus to see if it still had the airport symbol on the route display. Of course it did. The bus did not magically change routes while I was sat inside.

I found myself not really understanding the thread of the podcast I was listening to, because I was wondering whether the airport transfer I had booked was legit.

I was overly focusing on negative situations that hadn't yet happened. I was struggling to be okay with the uncertainty of not knowing whether I would get to my destination safely…

--

--