We’re all going on a solo holiday!

Who am I really when I’m by myself?

A photo of the author wearing sunglasses on a sunny day against the backdrop of a beach
Title to be sung to the tune of Cliff Richard’s “We’re all going on a summer holiday”

“I love you so much babe, but I want to go on holiday without you.” My partner of 14 years looked quizzically at me and said, “Well okay. As long as you definitely come back to me!”

We’ve been together for 14 years and living in settled domestic bliss for the last 10. We’ve had our fair share of holidays and adventures together and I’ve been lucky enough to have holidays with family and friends too, but this time I wanted to adventure on my own.

A few of my friends have been on solo holidays and it got me thinking. Who is Alison when all the things that normally occupy my life (so wonderfully I may add) are gone?

Who is Alison when there are no family or friends, partner, dog, work or hobbies around?

Who is Alison when there are no diary commitments and the only thing on the to-do list is “wake up and eat breakfast.”?

Honestly, I didn’t have a clue. But I booked a week-long trip to Albufeira in Portugal and I was excited to find out.

--

--